Google Research

Featured Research Collaborations

We have the opportunity to build collaborations with global faculty through several different programs. This page highlights current collaborations that are important to us and awards that we granted beyond our faculty engagement programs.

While we do significant in-house research and engineering, we also maintain strong ties with academic institutions worldwide pursuing innovative research in core areas relevant to our products and services. As part of that vision, our research awards aim to recognize and support world-class faculty and labs pursuing cutting-edge research in areas of mutual interest. As part of Google’s ongoing commitment to support ambitious research, we support faculty through a variety of research awards in areas that are of key interest to Google.

Computer Science Education Research Awards

Google’s Computer Science Education Research (CS-ER) Awards provide funding for one-year proof-of-concept pilots. In addition to receiving funding, awardees join a year-long cohort experience that creates opportunities for researchers to share expertise and tools and provide mentoring to new researchers.

See award recipients

Award Details

Awards are disbursed as unrestricted gifts to the researcher’s university or organization and are not intended for overhead or indirect costs. We welcome proposals that are interdisciplinary (for example, intersections of computer science, education, cognitive sciences, psychology, sociology, neuroscience, instructional design, et cetera), empirically-based, and focused on advancing the scientific understanding and practice of CS teaching and learning in scalable ways. Proposals that include partnerships across multiple institutions are especially welcome. See the FAQ for details on priority research areas.

Program Status

Applications are currently closed.

The CS-ER Awards application window will be reopened in early 2022.

Latin America Research Awards

Google’s Latin America Research Awards are one-year awards structured as unrestricted gifts to support the work of permanent faculty members and their students who are pursuing cutting-edge research in specific fields related to computer science at universities in Latin America. This program will allocate $500,000 USD each year to be distributed among the awardees.

See past award recipients

Award Information

Recipients are notified of award decisions within 6-8 weeks after the deadline. Each proposal should involve a single faculty member and a single student who is pursuing either an MS or PhD degree. The funds will be awarded for a period of one year with the possibility of annual renewal up to a limit of two years in total for master students and three years for PhD students.

Please read our FAQ for the mandatory document format and more information regarding the submission process.
Documents outside the mandatory format will not be reviewed or accepted.

To help address the coronavirus pandemic, the Latin America Research Awards include a new category to support research projects that are COVID-19 related.

Award Details

Grants will be paid in the form of monthly gifts to the faculty and student as follows:

  • PhD level: The student will receive $1,200 USD monthly and the faculty will receive a monthly stipend of $750 USD.
  • M.S level: The student will receive $750 USD monthly and the faculty will receive $675 USD monthly.

Program Status

Applications are currently closed.

The Latin America Research Awards application window will be reopened in 2021.

Quantum Research Awards 2019

Google is committed to supporting world class research in quantum computing. Through this award program, our team was able to fund and actively collaborate on research into quantum algorithms and applications for noisy intermediate-scale quantum (NISQ) processors.

Quantum Research Awards 2019 recipients

  • Artur Izmaylov, University of Toronto
  • Austin Minnich, Caltech
  • Ben Reichardt, University of Southern California
  • Birgitta Whaley, University of California, Berkeley
  • Boris Altshuler, Columbia University
  • Dominic William Berry, Macquarie University
  • Garnet Chan, Caltech
  • Henry Yuen, University of Toronto
  • Juan Carrasquilla, University of Waterloo
  • Khadijeh Najafi, Caltech
  • Lin Lin, University of California, Berkeley
  • Manuel Endres, Caltech
  • Nathan Wiebe, University of Washington
  • Norman Yao, University of California, Berkeley
  • Peter McMahon, Cornell University
  • Peter Wittek, University of Toronto
  • Rosario Fazio, International Center for Theoretical Physics Trieste
  • Toby Cubitt, University College London

Frequently asked questions

Learn more about our programs and outreach efforts on our FAQ page.