Announcing the First Annual Global PhD Fellowship Summit and the 2016 Google PhD Fellows

September 7, 2016

Posted by Michael Rennaker, Program Manager, University Relations

In 2009, Google created the PhD Fellowship Program to recognize and support outstanding graduate students doing exceptional research in Computer Science and related disciplines. Now in its eighth year, our Fellowships have helped support over 250 graduate students in Australia, China and East Asia, India, North America, Europe and the Middle East who seek to shape and influence the future of technology.

Recently, Google PhD Fellows from around the globe converged on our Mountain View campus for the first annual Global PhD Fellowship Summit. The students heard talks from researchers like Jeff Dean, Françoise Beaufays, Peter Norvig, Maya Gupta and Amin Vahdat, and got a glimpse into some of the state-of-the-art research pursued across Google.
Senior Google Fellow Jeff Dean shares how TensorFlow is used at Google
Fellows also had the chance to connect one-on-one with Googlers to discuss their research, as well as receive feedback from leaders in their fields. The event wrapped up with a panel discussion with Dan Russell, Kristen LeFevre, Douglas Eck and Françoise Beaufays about their unique career paths. Maggie Johnson concluded the Summit by sharing about the different types of research environments across academia and industry.
(Left) PhD Fellows share their work with Google researchers during the poster session
(Right) Research panelists share their journeys through academia and industry
Our PhD Fellows represent some the best and brightest young researchers around the globe in Computer Science and it is our ongoing goal to support them as they make their mark on the world.

We’d also like to welcome the newest class of Google PhD Fellows recently awarded in China and East Asia, India, and Australia. We look forward to seeing each of them at next year’s summit!

2016 Global PhD Fellows

Computational Neuroscience
Cameron (Po-Hsuan) Chen, Princeton University
Grace Lindsay, Columbia University
Martino Sorbaro Sindaci, The University of Edinburgh

Human-Computer Interaction
Dana McKay, University of Melbourne
Koki Nagano, University of Southern California
Arvind Satyanarayan, Stanford University
Amy Xian Zhang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Machine Learning
Olivier Bachem, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
Tianqi Chen, University of Washington
Emily Denton, New York University
Kwan Hui Lim, University of Melbourne
Yves-Laurent Kom Samo, University of Oxford
Woosang Lim, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Anirban Santara, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Daniel Jaymin Mankowitz, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Lucas Maystre, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Arvind Neelakantan, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Ludwig Schmidt, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Quanming Yao, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Shandian Zhe, Purdue University, West Lafayette

Machine Perception, Speech Technology and Computer Vision
Eugen Beck, RWTH Aachen University
Yu-Wei Chao, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Wei Liu, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Aron Monszpart, University College London
Thomas Schoeps, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
Tian Tan, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Chia-Yin Tsai, Carnegie Mellon University
Weitao Xu, University of Queensland

Market Algorithms
Hossein Esfandiari, University of Maryland, College Park
Sandy Heydrich, Saarland University - Saarbrucken GSCS
Rad Niazadeh, Cornell University
Sadra Yazdanbod, Georgia Institute of Technology

Mobile Computing
Lei Kang, University of Wisconsin
Tauhidur Rahman, Cornell University
Chungkuk Yoo, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Yuhao Zhu, University of Texas, Austin

Natural Language Processing
Tamer Alkhouli, RWTH Aachen University
Jose Camacho Collados, Sapienza - Università di Roma

Privacy and Security
Chitra Javali, University of New South Wales
Kartik Nayak, University of Maryland, College Park
Nicolas Papernot, Pennsylvania State University
Damian Vizar, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Xi Wu, University of Wisconsin

Programming Languages, Algorithms and Software Engineering
Marcelo Sousa, University of Oxford
Arpita Biswas, Indian Institute of Science

Structured Data and Database Management
Xiang Ren, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Systems and Networking
Ying Chen, Tsinghua University
Andrew Crotty, Brown University
Aniruddha Singh Kushwaha, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Ilias Marinos, University of Cambridge
Kay Ousterhout, University of California, Berkeley
Hong Zhang, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology