Jump to Content

Announcing the 2016 Google PhD Fellows for North America, Europe and the Middle East

March 10, 2016

Posted by Michael Rennaker, Google PhD Fellowships Lead

Google created the PhD Fellowship program in 2009 to recognize and support outstanding graduate students doing exceptional research in Computer Science and related disciplines. Now in its eighth year, our fellowship program has supported hundreds of future faculty, industry researchers, innovators and entrepreneurs.

Reflecting our continuing commitment to supporting and building relationships with the academic community, we are excited to announce the 39 recipients from North America, Europe and the Middle East. We offer our sincere congratulations to Google’s 2016 Class of PhD Fellows.

Computational Neuroscience
Cameron (Po-Hsuan) Chen, Princeton University
Grace Lindsay, Columbia University
Martino Sorbaro Sindaci, The University of Edinburgh

Human-Computer Interaction
Koki Nagano, University of Southern California
Arvind Satyanarayan, Stanford University
Amy Xian Zhang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Machine Learning
Olivier Bachem, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
Tianqi Chen, University of Washington
Emily Denton, New York University
Yves-Laurent Kom Samo, University of Oxford
Daniel Jaymin Mankowitz, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Lucas Maystre, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Arvind Neelakantan, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Ludwig Schmidt, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Shandian Zhe, Purdue University, West Lafayette

Machine Perception, Speech Technology and Computer Vision
Eugen Beck, RWTH Aachen University
Yu-Wei Chao, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Wei Liu, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Aron Monszpart, University College London
Thomas Schoeps, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
Chia-Yin Tsai, Carnegie Mellon University

Market Algorithms
Hossein Esfandiari, University of Maryland, College Park
Sandy Heydrich, Saarland University - Saarbrucken GSCS
Rad Niazadeh, Cornell University
Sadra Yazdanbod, Georgia Institute of Technology

Mobile Computing
Lei Kang, University of Wisconsin
Tauhidur Rahman, Cornell University
Yuhao Zhu, University of Texas, Austin

Natural Language Processing
Tamer Alkhouli, RWTH Aachen University
Jose Camacho Collados, Sapienza - Università di Roma

Privacy and Security
Kartik Nayak, University of Maryland, College Park
Nicolas Papernot, Pennsylvania State University
Damian Vizar, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Xi Wu, University of Wisconsin

Programming Languages and Software Engineering
Marcelo Sousa, University of Oxford

Structured Data and Database Management
Xiang Ren, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Systems and Networking
Andrew Crotty, Brown University
Ilias Marinos, University of Cambridge
Kay Ousterhout, University of California, Berkeley