Announcing the 2018 Google PhD Fellows for North America, Europe and the Middle East

April 5, 2018

Posted by Susie Kim, Program Manager, University Relations

Google created the PhD Fellowship program in 2009 to recognize and support outstanding graduate students doing exceptional research in Computer Science and related disciplines. Now in its ninth year, our fellowship program has supported hundreds of future faculty, industry researchers, innovators and entrepreneurs.

Reflecting our continuing commitment to supporting and building relationships with the academic community, we are excited to announce the 39 recipients from North America, Europe and the Middle East. We offer our sincere congratulations to the 2018 Google PhD Fellows.

Algorithms, Optimizations and Markets
Emmanouil Zampetakis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Manuela Fischer, ETH Zurich CS
Thodoris Lykouris, Cornell University
Yuan Deng, Duke University

Computational Neuroscience
Ella Batty, Columbia University
Neha Spenta Wadia, University of California, Berkeley
Reuben Feinman, New York University

Human-Computer Interaction
Gierad Laput, Carnegie Mellon University
Mike Schaekermann, University of Waterloo
Minsuk (Brian) Kahng, Georgia Tech

Machine Learning
Aditi Raghunathan, Stanford University
Lin Chen, Yale University
Qian Yu, University of Southern California
Ravid Shwartz-Ziv, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Shuang Liu, University of California, San Diego
Stephen Tu, University of California, Berkeley
Xinchen Yan, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Zelda Mariet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mobile Computing
Shilin Zhu, University of California, San Diego

Machine Perception, Speech Technology and Computer Vision
Antoine Miech, INRIA
Arsha Nagrani, University of Oxford (ES)
Joseph Redmon, University of Washington
Raymond Yeh, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Shanmukha Ramakrishna Vedantam, Georgia Tech

Natural Language Processing
Anne Cocos, University of Pennsylvania
Jonathan Herzig, Tel-Aviv University
Rotem Dror, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Yang Liu, The University of Edinburgh
Yoon Kim, Harvard University

Privacy and Security
Aayush Jain, University of California, Los Angeles

Programming Technology and Software Engineering
Gowtham Kaki, Purdue University, West Lafayette
Reyhaneh Jabbarvand, University of California, Irvine
Victor Lanvin, Fondation Sciences Mathématiques de Paris

Quantum Computing
Erika Ye, California Institute of Technology

Structured Data and Database Management
Lingjiao Chen, University of Wisconsin

Systems and Networking
Andrea Lattuada, ETH Zurich CS
Lana Josipović, EPFL CS
Michael Schaarschmidt, University of Cambridge - Computer Laboratory
Rachee Singh, University of Massachusetts, Amherst